Thai (ish) Basil Fried Rice

I love Thai basil fried rice. It’s probably one of my favorite things to eat at a Thai restaurant. When I was in college, tired of my dorm food, I’d always go to Siam Royal in Palo Alto and get this delicious fried rice. When I went home for the holidays (which wasn’t even that far away), I decided I’d make my new favorite fried rice so that my parents could try it (and eventually we went to the actual restaurant, which still obviously remains better than my version).

Anyway, I searched the internet and found this great recipe.  When I want to make sure I don’t mess up, I try to follow that recipe, but I also wing it if I don’t feel up to stressing out about recipes…which is something I do and I get paranoid about not adding everything and/or not following the steps.

For a quick, easy and tasty version:

  1. Chop all your veggies first. Take one or two fat cloves of garlic, mince. Also mince however many thai chili peppers you can handle. Cut 1 onion in half inch (or so) slices, roughly chop some red bell peppers, and wash some basil leaves.
  2. This recipe is definitely best with chicken (preferably skin on), but you can use whatever you have, or nothing at all.
  3. Prepare the sauce: 3 tbsp oyster sauce and 2 tbsp fish sauce, for 3 cups of cooked rice.

After your ingredients are all chopped and ready, heat a pan (preferably a wok) with maybe a tbsp of your oil of choice, quickly saute the minced garlic and chili peppers. Add your meat (if raw), cook 3/4 of the way, add your sauce and simmer.

Add onions. Once the meat is cooked thoroughly, add rice, “cut” the rice with spatula and make sure the sauce evenly coats the rice. Add bell peppers. Turn off heat, and add basil leaves! Bon appetit.

Leave a comment