Making Essays, Crafting Cookies

While working through my personal statement drafts (the application season has begun!), I was thinking of cookies (as one does, naturally) and thinking of how essay writing is so much like cookie dough making.

Whenever I’m trying to put together an essay, I feel like I’m a crazed witch with a bubbling cauldron full of ingredients that just aren’t mixing together. Many hours of my essay writing process feel as though I’m a cackling sorceress stirring the big pot with crazed eyes, reciting spells in hopes that my magic potion comes out right.

But, bit by bit, stir by stir, what feels like an impossible mess of incompatible components finally comes together into something appealing.

Each time I make cookies at home, I also feel like the witch-inside-my-head because I never really know if I measured the ingredients precisely enough for the cookie dough to come out right. This would probably be less of a problem if I stayed close to the instructions. But alas.

Today’s cookies were based on a Pinch of Yum recipe! Find my version below the pictures 🙂

 

Ingredients:

-1/4 c white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar (pretty packed)

-8tbsp butter

-1 egg

-1.5 c flour (I didn’t have enough, so I ended up mixing in about 1 tbsp of coconut flour)

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-large dash of vanilla extract

-some salt (1/2 tsp ish)

-3/4 cups chocolate (I think I added more)

The extras: dried cranberries (about 1/3 cup) and about a tsp of Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Spice (I wanted cinnamon but realized I didn’t have any)!

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F. Take barely melted butter (I actually just used room temperature butter), mix with sugar.  Beat in egg. Add in vanilla extract, pumpkin spice, salt, and then the flour/baking soda. After you’ve got a reasonably well mixed cookie dough, add the chocolate and cranberries.

Bake for about 10 minutes, and as the recipe at Pinch of Yum warns, don’t over bake the cookies! They’ll look pretty pale when they come out of the oven, but you’ll be rewarded with softness! 🙂

 

Happy baking!

 

Leave a Reply

