Sunflower Seed-Chocolate Chip Cookies

Success! I made yummy cookies! This is an accomplishment only because I attempted the same recipe last week, went a little too haphazard on my measurements, and ended up with a scone-like cookie instead (I think I went too little on the sugar, too much on the baking soda, and potentially too much flour).

This easy cookie is based on this recipe. It’s not particularly healthy, though, so next time I’ll try tweaking the ingredients some.

Ingredients:

-1 stick butter (8tbsp), softened (or melted, see what I did below)

-1/2 brown sugar (not packed, so kind of approximate)

-1/4 white sugar

-2 tsp vanilla extract

-1 egg

-1.5 cup flour

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-dash salt

-1 cup (and a bit extra) dark chocolate chips

-1/2 cup roasted sunflower seeds

 

What I Did:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. “Cream” the sugar and soft butter. Since I don’t have the ideal kitchen situation, I don’t have a large baking bowl, so I was using my big soup pot to mix the dough. Anyway, my butter wasn’t as soft as I thought it was, so I ended up putting it on the stove top for a minute or two until the butter started to melt. Did this have any effect on my cookies? I don’t really know, but some of the sugar might have been better incorporated into the dough…
  3. Add egg and vanilla extract.
  4. Mix in baking soda into the flour, then put that dry mixture into your egg-sugar-butter mixture. Add a dash of salt, mix.
  5. Add chocolate! chocolate! more chocolate! and then whatever else you have lying around (really, last time I had my too-old mix of dried fruits and toasted almonds, and this time it was my sunflower seeds that I have had lying around for way too long).
  6. Make the cookies into balls and stick them on a baking sheet, a couple inches apart. Bake for 10 ish minutes (for my oven, it was more like 15, but I think it simply depends on how brown/crispy you want your cookies to be).
  7. After they’re done, eat! or let them cool down.

Happy cookie baking!

 

PS. For any who noticed, yes, my cookies are cooling on a super makeshift “rack,” aka chopsticks over a bowl. That is how I roll.

Leave a Reply

