Exploring Northern Liberties

I realized recently that I haven’t done half as much exploring of Philadelphia as I originally planned to do. I’ve been in the city for almost a year now, and I somehow end up visiting the same neighborhoods out of habit.

Today, I decided to break out of my pattern and walk from Old City (Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, etc) through Northern Liberties. I was going to make the trek up to Fishtown as well, but alas, that will have to be for another day.

Since I’ve only visited the neighborhood this once, I can’t say too much about it. But I did notice a certain artsy-ness to it (simultaneously hipster and anti-hipster), though it was of a different kind than the galleries that can be found in Old City. I also noticed a lot of brunch/lunch places and cafes. I saw a Green Eggs Cafe and Honey’s (which had delicious looking fried chicken).

Mainly, I liked the random street art, murals, and The Random Tea Room (post coming soon).

Leave a Reply

