How do I cook thee, onion? Let me count the ways…

Maybe false advertisement. I only cooked them two ways for these posts. First as an oven-roasted onion flower and second as a confiture d’oignons (an onion “jam” or “marmalade” although neither word captures exactly what it is, which is more of an extra carmelized onion spread). My boyfriend’s family shared some wonderful, large, juicy red onions yesterday (from Fresno I think!) so I set to work cooking and eating them (obviously) with my parents today. Tonight, I’m posting the steps to make the onion flower. The confiture d’oignons will come tomorrow.

My mom found an “onion flower” recipe online (several exist), but as what now seems like always, I tweaked the recipe to my liking (even though I had never tried it before and really don’t know what I’m doing). The prep is super quick, but to get delicious results, you’ll have to leave them in the oven for a little while.

What to Use:

  1. However many red onions you want to eat, but really round, spherical ones seem to make for prettier flowers. I used large onions, and 1/2 seemed appropriate for one person as a side dish. But you could easily eat a whole one.
  2. Olive oil (I think I ended up using about 4-5 tsp total for 2 onions)
  3. Soy sauce (a slight drizzle across the “petals”)
  4. Salt (I used 2 tsp for the two onions)
  5. Cracked pepper
  6. Some people use balsamic vinegar. I did not.

How to Make:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit.
  2. Peel outer skin of onion, chop off the top, and then chop off just enough of the root end so that it can stand up still in the oven.
  3. Make 4 even cuts (vertical) so that you get 8 (relatively) equal sections. Throw onto a cooking sheet (and parchment paper).
  4. Rub olive oil on the outside of each onion, and drizzle across the cut sections. Sprinkle salt and pepper (and make sure to get some inside the cuts as well).
  5. Put in oven for approximately 40 minutes.
  6. Take out, drizzle a tiny bit more of olive oil, maybe sprinkle a little more oil, and drizzle your bit of soy sauce over the petals (I tried to sprinkle 1-3 drops of soy sauce on each eighth of the onion).
  7. Put back in oven for another 20 or so minutes. I used onions that were quite large and they could have stayed in the oven for a little longer. If yours are smaller, you might not need as much time.
  8. Enjoy! They were incredibly sweet and delicious! I ate a whole onion during dinner. My parents also really liked them (my mom more so than my dad).
Leave a Reply

